Skip to content

What should I be when I grow up?

November 13, 2016

channel_careers3I will be leaving my long-time position as Director of Technology for the management consulting firm Schaffer Consulting at the end of the year. So what do I do now?

Over the years I’ve thought of myself as a system administrator, a server, networks and desktop support guy. I’ve done a lot of telecom management over the years. I’ve worked a lot with collaboration systems.

And lately I’ve been getting more involved with marketing support – websites, social media, email campaigns, CRM. In this new role I’ve suddenly found some of my older experience relevant. I was a trade magazine editor and conference director before getting to where I am now.

I’ve developed a pretty broad range of experience in both tech and business.

But what does it prepare me for? Consultant, analyst, writer, sysadmin? New roles such as community manager? Am I looking for a job, a gig or engagements as an independent businessman?

I think the reality is that I will be exploring any and all of those.

Your thoughts, ideas and encouragement are much appreciated.

David

 

From → Work Life

One Comment
  1. Pete permalink

    Best of luck, wherever your feet take you, David. My only recommendation, rather than a specific job, is to have a good long talk with yourself, and figure out what the things are that really move you – where your passion(s) are. Equally important, what do want to avoid: travel, politics, long hours, etc. etc. That combination of likes & dislikes should help to guide your decision.

    Like

Leave a Reply

