Skip to content
Tags

Windows 10 — First impressions

September 2, 2015

I’ve started testing/playing with Windows 10. So far I have installed Windows 10 as an upgrade on two machines, both Windows 7 desktops, one 32 bit, one 64 bit. No real problems with either one. I also tried several times to upgrade my wife’s Lenovo Yoga from Windows 8.1. The upgrade just wouldn’t run. The Windows 10 icon on that machine is now reporting that the upgrade isn’t available yet. I don’t know if that’s a Windows 8.1 issue, a Lenovo issue, or what. If the upgrade suddenly becomes available then I guess we’ll know.

I’ve been pretty happy with the upgrades from Windows 7. The desktops and start menus were carried over pretty cleanly. Haven’t found any apps that just won’t work.

On the 64 bit machine the video driver (NVIDIA) got lost. But Windows still recognized the card and I was able to update the driver from Device Manager with a few clicks. I was amused to see that it did require a restart to apply the driver! After rebooting I had access to all the resolutions the card was capable of and had an NVIDIA Settings icon in the tools at the right side of the taskbar.

On the 64 bit machine I wanted to test a few things in use in our production environment. I used a clean install of Windows 7, but before I upgraded to Windows 10 I installed a printer driver (Xerox), Chrome, Google Apps and Drive and the Novell Client. Our Novell servers are being phased out but we still have the client on all our Windows machines so I wanted to see if I needed to uninstall.

Everything still worked after the upgrade, even the Novell login process, although I haven’t succeeded in logging into Windows and eDirectory together on the initial login.

After I had Windows 10 installed I also tried a legacy MS Office installer (Office 2007) and Open Office and both installed and ran as they would under Windows 7.

So far I’m encouraged, but still not ready to rush the production machines to Windows 10. Still waiting for the dust to settle.

If you’re tired of waiting for Microsoft to get around to your machine for upgrade, here’s the bypass. Visit http://www.microsoft.com/EN-US/windows/windows-10-upgrade. Then in the Reserve section you’ll see a link for “If you’d like to create a USB drive or DVD to download once and upgrade multiple PCs”. You can indeed create install media as it says, but you can also use the downloaded file to launch an upgrade immediately.

From → Productivity

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

